Posted 05/01/2014

NIMS Integration Center

It is recommented that courses 100 and 700 are taken for all EMS providers.
A list of on-line courses on the FEMA web site may be viewed by clicking here...

Read info below about NIMS 100 and 700


All Federal, State, territorial, tribal, private sector and nongovernmental personnel at the 
following levels of responsibility in emergency management operations – first-line supervisor 
(Sergeant/Lieutenant), mid-level management (Captain/Shift Commander) and command (Battalion 
Chief/Division Chief/ District Commander/PIO) and general staff 

Course Overview and Introduction:

To obtain the ICS-100 course materials or take the course online go to

The course is designed to be taken online or course materials may be downloaded and used in a group 
or classroom setting. Answer sheets may be obtained by calling the EMI Independent Study Office at 
(301) 447-1256 or ordered online at:

Approved ICS-100 level training may be developed and conducted by Federal, State, tribal, and local 
agencies as well as private training vendors however it must include the following topics and 
∗ Purpose of ICS: Identify requirements to use ICS, three purposes of ICS and common incident 
∗ Basic Features of ICS: Describe the basic features of ICS.
∗ Incident Commander and Command Staff Functions: Describe the role and function of the Incident
Commander and Command Staff.
∗ General Staff Functions: Describe the role and function of the Operations, Planning, Logistics 
Finance/Administration sections.
∗ Facilities: Describe the six basic ICS facilities, identify facilities that may be located 
together, and identify
facility map symbols.
∗ Common Responsibilities: Describe common mobilization responsibilities and common 
responsibilities at
an incident, list individual accountability responsibilities, and describe common demobilization

* All Federal, State, Tribal and local emergency personnel need to decide who within their 
organizations should take this training.


Who must take IS-700 NIMS? All personnel with a direct role in emergency preparedness, incident 
management or response must complete NIMS IS-700.

IS-700 NIMS: An Introduction is a Web-based awareness level course that explains NIMS components, 
concepts and principles. Although it is designed to be taken online interactively, course materials 
may be downloaded and used in a group or classroom setting.

To obtain the ICS-100 course materials or take the course online go to

Who must take IS-700?

Executive Level – Political and government leaders, agency and organization administrators and 
department heads; personnel that fill ICS roles as Unified Commanders, Incident Commanders, Command 
Staff, General Staff in either Area Command or single incidents; senior level Multi-Agency 
Coordination System personnel; senior emergency managers; and Emergency Operations Center Command 
or General Staff.

Managerial Level – Agency and organization management between the executive level and first level 
supervision; personnel who fill ICS roles as Branch Directors, Division/Group Supervisors, Unit 
Leaders, technical specialists, strike team and task force leaders, single resource leaders and 
field supervisors; midlevel Multi-Agency Coordination System personnel; EOC Section Chiefs, Branch 
Directors, Unit Leaders; and other emergency management/response personnel who require a higher 
level of ICS/NIMS Training.

Responder Level – Emergency response providers and disaster workers, entry level to managerial 
level including Emergency Medical Service personnel; firefighters; medical personnel; police 
officers; public health personnel; public work/utility personnel; and other emergency management 
response personnel.

Note: Multi-Agency Coordination System personnel include those persons who are charged with 
coordinating and supporting incident management activities. These emergency management personnel 
typically function from an emergency operations center.